friday, friday!

Okay, so we’re still in “yesterday was Thursday” territory, but GUYS.  It’s almost Friday, which means it’s almost time for ALA Midwinter!  ALA Midwinter is one of the American Library Association’s annual national conferences.  Not only is it a fun time for library professionals, it’s also Kind Of A Big Deal in the book world.  You know the Caldecott, the Newbery, and all those other medals that end up on children’s books?  Those are announced here.  (They’ll be announced the day after I leave, but still!  Same conference!)  So yeah, pretty important!

I got this in my email yesterday, and I about had a conniption.  A conniption of happiness:

AAAAAAAAAAA.

AAAAAAAAAAA.

Today I wash all my clothes, pack, and run around like a chicken with its head cut off–so that tomorrow, I can get up before the sun and take a plane to ALA Chicago.  This is the first time I’ve been anywhere other than the doctor or physical therapist since November, and I am ecstatic.

You might be saying to yourself, “But Miss Amy, I thought you were taking a car!”  We were going to, but plans changed, as they are wont to do, and long story short, the aunt of one of my library-school buddies, with whom I’m going, paid for all of us to fly down.  I am incredibly grateful at her generosity, because wow.  That’s amazingly kind.

My ALA Midwinter goals are:

  1. Get my copy of El Deafo signed by Cece Bell, who’s going to be there!
  2. Try not to melt into a puddle of incoherence when meeting Cece Bell.
  3. Learn lots of things!
  4. Have lots of fun!

I’ll try to post this weekend so I can tell you guys how it’s going!  Fingers crossed that it’s a great way to end winter break–we come back on Sunday, and then school starts on Monday.  Well, for me, it starts on Tuesday, when my Young Adult Materials class meets, but the point stands.  This is my last hurrah before I head back to class.  🙂

One thought on “friday, friday!

Leave a Reply

