got the loveliest birthday present!

One of my sisters sent me the most wonderful book from California!

The Snowy Day and the Art of Ezra Jack Keats is an exhibit that she and her boyfriend went to at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles!  I was superenvious when she told me about it, because come on, who doesn’t want to see Ezra Jack Keats’ work in person?  And then, just look what I got in the mail!

Entertaining fact for you: Sara found out that her boyfriend never read The Snowy Day as a child, and both she and I were a little amazed at the idea.  I related this story to Roommate, who looked at me blankly–turns out Roommate has never read The Snowy Day, either!  And I don’t want to suggest that either Roommate or Jonathan had deprived childhoods, but The Snowy Day is one of the single best picture books ever written.  I’m just saying.

(Are you unfamiliar with The Snowy Day, internets?  Let me tell you a little about it!  The book was written by Ezra Jack Keats in 1962, who won the Caldecott Medal–think of it as the picture-book equivalent of an Academy Award–for it in 1963.  The story is of a little boy named Peter who delights in the simple pleasures of a snowy day in New York City.  The illustrations are phenomenal, the text is timeless, and the book deserves some special note for being an early(ish) children’s classic featuring an African-American protagonist.  Critiques have been made of the book throughout the years, and you can read about them here, but I can honestly say I adore it unreservedly.)

An image from The Snowy Day–Peter pokes at a snowy tree with a stick. Imagine seeing this in person!

Anyway, this was such a thoughtful gift that I wanted to tell the whole world.  Thank you, Sara!  All my love to you, too (but you know that).

If you’d like to learn a little more about the exhibit, you can check out the information posted on the official Ezra Jack Keats website.

Leave a Reply

