exciting plans!

I keep saying to myself, “You should make a post about X, it’d be long and satisfying and blah blah blah,” but this weekend, I’ve been kind of busy with work.  I’m closing at the bookshop tonight, so I am not really up for writing a long, long post.  But I do want to tell you all that I’ve been making bookplans for class, and I’m excited!

See, one of the assignments is to present on a genre we aren’t focusing on in class and, as part of said presentation, booktalk 5 books.  Mine’s humor/satire, and I had all my books picked out save one.  But last night I found one that I think should be just perfect with the rest of them.  So, without further ado, please allow me to give you a sneak peek at my humor/satire presentation!

  • The De-Textbook, Cracked.com (9780452298200) – A compilation of wittily written trivia about the lessons your teachers might have forgotten in class.
  • How About Never, Is Never Good for You? My Life in Cartoons, Bob Mankoff (9780805095906) – A memoir by the cartoon editor of The New Yorker, who also happens to be the coiner of the title phrase.
  • How to Be Black, Baratunde R. Thurston (9780062003218) – Part memoir, part discourse on being black in America, all funny.
  • I Could Chew on This: And Other Poems by Dogs, Francesco Marciuliano (9781452119038) – What began as a series of funny pictures on the internet is now a series of poetry books from the point of view of one’s pets.
  • Sex Criminals, vol. 1, Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky (9781607069461) – Orgasms that literally stop time become a bittersweet metaphor for the ways sex can isolate a person even when they’re about as close to someone else as it’s possible to get…and in case that sounds too serious, keep in mind that there are armed bank robberies and fleshlight tasers in there as well.

Now that I’m looking at the list, I might have to swap out Ces’ book (much as it pains me to say it–Ces Marciuliano’s one of my favourite humorists, though I’m a bigger fan of Medium-Large than his poetry books) for something written by a woman.  I don’t really like the idea that I didn’t pick anything specifically written from a female perspective, and I don’t want to switch any of the other titles, lol.  I guess it might not be as settled as I thought–but this is my first full rough draft, and in the coming weeks, I’m gonna draft up the badassest book talk you could possibly imagine for these.

2 thoughts on “exciting plans!

Leave a Reply

