books i’m going to read next >:|

My Readers Advisory class is often very fun, but holy shit, does it take me a long time to read these books.  While I could power through my summer reading for Social Justice in Children’s/YA Lit last year and still have time for extracurricular literature, that’s not the case these days.  Books for grown-ups, especially books for grown-ups in genres I don’t like, take so much longer for me to slog through.  Stupid secondary world fantasy, ruining all my fun.  Lol.

Anyway, I want to keep a list of books I want to read when I finally have free time for reading again.  I might add to this list and edit it as time goes on.

  1. The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon – Before I realized just how much reading I was going to have for this class, I planned to spend my summer starting in on a new project: reading every Newbery winner in order.  This is the first one, and I’m partway through it.  I’m bound and determined to finish it before fall, at least, even if I can’t get the other ones done.
  2. The Merciless by Danielle Vega – You’ve already heard me talk about how excited I am about this book!  It’s the one with the exorcism and the conservative Christianity.  I am going to read the hell out of it the minute I have a chance.
  3. Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction – The title is silly, and the premise of this graphic novel is mildly embarrassing to explain, lol: what if someone’s superpower was orgasms that stopped time?  And what if they used that power to go rob banks?  But the word I’ve heard is that it’s actually a really well-written comic with a lot of heart, and I am interested in checking it out for myself.
  4. Every book I had recommended by a classmate – We had an assignment where we received a description of our classmates’ reading interests, and then we found books to recommend them in return.  I had a lot of fun doing it, but I wasn’t prepared to get my sheet back full of books I really and truly wanted to read.  (What can I say?  Sometimes, I’m a pessimist.  Also, I get so goddamn picky with books.)  But basically every title Classmate suggested sounded right up my alley, and I want all of them.  Unfortunately, “all of them” is gonna take a while.  I might make a post about her recommendations later, because then I’ll have an electronic copy of them, and also, I think you guys might be interested in the recs as well!  Some of them were books I could definitely see passing directly on to Mum if I enjoyed them.  😀
  5. Belle by Paula Byrne – Remember that movie I went to see?  This is the book on the same subject.  I’ve read a couple pages so far, and it’s not exactly astounding writing, but I don’t mind that–I just want to learn more about Dido Lindsey and her place in 18th-century society.

That’s the list so far, but God knows, I’ll find plenty more to add before the summer is through.  I love books so much, you guys; sometimes I feel like they just find their own way toward me and cry out plaintively for attention, lol.

Leave a Reply

