friday, i’m in love

As some of you might know, I was planning on spending the summer reading Newbery winners in order.  Well, my Reader’s Advisory class put paid to that–I don’t have the time to read 4 books for grown-ups a week and fit in children’s literature, too.  That’ll have to wait until later, I’m afraid.  But I did think maybe I could inaugurate a new feature on the blog.  Friday, I’m in Love posts!  Every Friday, I’ll share some stuff I’m digging.

  • “Flat Foot Floogie” by Slim Gaillard – I woke up today with this stuck in my head, and I can’t really complain about it!  So what’s a flat-foot floogie with a floy floy?  Well, I’ll give you a hint: it was originally a flat-foot floozie, but the lyric had to be changed because it was considered too racy for the 1930s, when the song was recorded.  (Speaking of Slim Gaillard, check out this sweet picture of him posing with a monkey.)
  • My reading list for fall – I’m so excited for my children’s literature class!  We’re going to spend a whole day on Sydney Taylor’s All-of-a-Kind Family.  It’s gonna be amazeballs.
  • The prospect of a nap – Sorry, guys, I was up at work at 7am this morning.  I am gonna have a sleep, and it is gonna be boss.

Have a good weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

