i promise i haven’t forgotten about this blog

I’ve just been…well, busy.  And sometimes sad, and sometimes tired.  I’ll be putting more content up in the coming weeks, though; as part of the class I’m taking this summer, I have to post reviews on a book blog, and since I already have one…why not put them here?  Superhandy, supersweet.

I was planning to do a project this summer called “read every Newbery winner in order and write about them,” but unfortunately, I’m probably not going to have time to devote to it because of said class.  Or maybe I’ll just end up posting a Newbery review every month or so instead of every week, like I’d hoped.

Anyway, the class I’m taking is called Reader’s Advisory, and it’s basically What I Do For Minimum Wage: The Class.  When a librarian does Reader’s Advisory, she listens to what a patron likes about books and suggests new ones for them to read.  This is something I do constantly at work, mostly for children, and I think I’m pretty good at it.  I have coworkers who will grab me from the cash registers to ask me to help somebody find a birthday present for an eight-year-old boy or whoever, and that makes me feel really accomplished!  I give impromptu book talks nearly every day I’m at work, and honestly, I think I’m better at the casual kind than the formal ones I have to do in classes!  The latter make me nervous, lol.

I hope that doesn’t sound like bragging, saying that I’m good at this kind of thing.  I just think it’s one of my strengths, and it’s something I like to do.  But what I’m good at is Reader’s Advisory for children and teens (because those are the books I read!), and this class focuses on Reader’s Advisory for adults.  So I’m going to learn a lot from it, and I’m going to read a lot of books I might not have read otherwise.

And in case you’re curious, here are the books I’ll be reading for the class this summer!  They’re split up by genre and in reading order.  Get set to see some reviews of them in the future!

Literary fiction
Perfect – Rachel Joyce

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
The Heist – Janet Evanovich/Lee Goldberg
The Shining Girls – Lauren Beukes

Historical fiction
The Lighthouse Road – Peter Geye
I Shall Be Near to You – Erin Lindsay McCabe

Fantasy
The Emperor’s Blades – Brian Staveley
Kabu-Kabu – Nnedi Okorafor

Science fiction
Ancillary Justice – Ann Leckie
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August – Claire North

Graphic novels
Boxers – Gene Luen Yang
Saints – Gene Luen Yang
The Harlem Hellfighters – Max Brooks
Goddamn This War! – Jacques Tardi

Romance/Women’s fiction
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris – Jenny Colgan
Romancing the Duke – Tessa Dare (and I’ll be doing a presentation on this one!)

Young Adult
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick
All the Truth That’s in Me – Julie Gardner Berry

Non-fiction
The Good Nurse – Charles Graeber
Hitler’s Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields – Wendy Lower

Humor/Satire
Two additional books written in the past 5 years – I haven’t picked these yet, but I’ll have to do a book talk of three more in addition, and I def. want to include How to be Black by Baratunde R. Thurston (highly recommended if you haven’t read it–it’s a very funny and has a lot of memoir elements in addition to looking at race in America).

My “real” reviews of these books will be on my Goodreads profile; what I will post on my blog will be the kinds of reviews one writes for library patrons.  These focus more on plot and audience rather than the reviewer’s opinions.  My posts for this class will all be tagged with “7630,” too, because I’m hoping I’ll find the energy to post about non-school bookthings, too.

Let’s see…anything else to tell you guys?  Well, I did have a panic attack in class last night, which was superembarrassing.  Two of the optional books (options I did not pick, obviously!  lol) heavily feature aliens, and since this blog is mostly read by my immediate family, I can confidently say that we all know how well I deal with aliens.  After class, I got permission to leave the room when people present on those books–score.  No more academic panic attacks for Miss Amy, I’ll tell you what.  Other than that, I think it’s going to be a nice class, and I’m looking forward to learning things!

Leave a Reply

