Look at all the books I’ve gotten!

Well, not literally “look,” because I’m too lazy to take a picture.  But my personal collection of picture books and chapter books is growing in leaps and bounds!  All thanks to my Social Justice in Kidlit class.  😀  Which actually starts this coming Monday, it turns out.  That’s pretty nice, actually, because I had extra time to really savor Walter Dean Myers’ Fallen Angels, which was amazing.  (You can read my Goodreads review if you like!)

Anyway, I’ve gotten 23 books for that class so far, and I still have more coming!  It’s a lot to read in six weeks, but I think I can do it.  And in honour of all these great-looking books, I’m going to post my reading list here for you!  That way, if you’re interested in building your own library of socially just children’s and YA books, you totally can.  I’ve divided them up into different categories to help you locate the titles you might be most interested in.

Picture books

  • Any of these board books (I chose Welcome Song for Baby: A Lullaby for Newborns)
  • The Enemy: A Book About Peace – Davide Cali and Serge Bloch
  • Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom – Carole Boston Weatherford
  • The Black Book of Colors – Menena Cottin
  • Uncle Bobby’s Wedding – Sarah S. Brannen
  • Deshawn Days – Tony Medina
  • Three Names of Me – Mary Cummings
  • The Middle Passage: White Ships, Black Cargo – Tom Feelings

Graphic Novels

  • Lola: A Ghost Story – J. Torres and Elbert Or

Chapter Books/Midgrade Novels

  • Eighth-Grade Superzero – Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich
  • Tofu Quilt – Ching Yeung Russell
  • The Traitor: Golden Mountain Chronicles, 1885 – Lawrence Yep
  • Half and Half – Lensey Namioka
  • The Grand Plan to Fix Everything – Uma Krishnaswami
  • Rain is Not My Indian Name – Cynthia Leitich Smith
  • When My Name Was Keoko – Linda Sue Park
  • From Somalia with Love – Na’ima bint Robert

Young Adult Novels

  • Ask Me No Questions – Marina Budhos
  • Marcelo in the Real World – Francisco X. Stork
  • Ash – Malinda Lo
  • Fallen Angels – Walter Dean Myers
  • Mexican WhiteBoy – Matt de la Peña

Non-fiction books

  • Dia’s Story Cloth: The Hmong People’s Journey of Freedom – Dia Cha
  • Jane Addams: Champion of Democracy – Judith Bloom Fradin and Dennis Brindell Fradin
  • Dear Miss Breed: True Stories of the Japanese American Incarceration During World War II and a Librarian Who Made a Difference – Joanne Oppenheim
  • Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice – Phillip Hoose
  • The Diary of Anne Frank – Anne Frank
  • Pieces of Me: Who Do I Want to Be? – Robert L. Ballard
Leave a Reply

