Quick update!

I promise I’m still alive, internets.  😀  I’m in the waning days of my first semester as a library student, however, and I have some homework to get done before I do long essays about books, work, and school.  This week, I have two papers, a presentation, and 1/3 of a powerpoint to get done.  Next week, I’ll have a little more time to breathe, but I’ll need to study up for my final exam the week after.  So I’ll be scarce a while, but hopefully I’ll come back with all kinds of things to tell you after!

On a different note, I’m finally figuring out how to make Pandora.com do what I want it to, and I’m having fun trying to prune my tastes into individual radio stations.  So far, I’ve been working on Yacht Rock and All 80s Songs Sound the Same.  Yacht Rock is heavily based on the youtube miniseries of the same name, and it’s pretty self-explanatory.  All 80s Songs Sound the Same is based on my theory that “Take Me Home Tonight,” “Heat of the Moment,” “Africa,” and a few other songs are all basically the same song anyway.  I’m still working on editing them down so that they only play the right stuff (no, Pandora, the Beatles and the Zombies are not yacht rock), but I’m pretty pleased with them so far.  If you’re in the mood for syrupy rich-yuppie music or synth-heavy love songs from 30 years ago, I hope you’ll give them a look.

Future Pandora stations I’m planning on trying to cobble together include one dedicated to my favourite acts from the 1880s-1930s, another full of whiny 1950s teen pop, and a 1960s baroque pop station based on The Left Banke’s “Pretty Ballerina.”  If nothing else, those should at least prove that I’m not always a soulless corporate drone when it comes to music.  Maybe.  ^_-

And here are some posts I’m planning to make when I’m done running the end-of-year gauntlet:

  • My library ethics (finally)
  • Reviews of some of the books I’ve read lately
  • Quick snippets about the books I’m reading right now
  • A mildly sad thing that happened at work a while ago
  • Posts about the subjects I’ve researched this semester:
    • Precision and recall
    • Archives and preservation
    • Music digitization
  • Wiscon, when I go to it!  (It’s the weekend after I finish school–perfect reward)
  • My summer plans to go visit the NIU archives
  • More picture books I’ve read recently

I think that’s about it for now.  I’ll be back soon–wish me luck on my projects!

Leave a Reply

