Book Shelf/School/Store, 03.09.13

I think this might be a nice way for me to organize general posts about books!  Things happening in my personal reading sphere, at library school, and in the bookstore where I work.

Book Shelf

So many books to read!  That’s always the case, isn’t it?  But it can be tough, knowing where to start.  When it comes to pleasure reading, the last book I finished was Persuasion by Jane Austen.  While I enjoyed it, I didn’t like it nearly as well as Northanger Abbey (which is my new favourite Jane Austen novel), and I really wanted to read something different after.  So now I’m reading Shannon Hale’s Princess Academy: Palace of Stone.  It’s a sequel to an excellent fairy tale published a few years ago, and while the original Princess Academy didn’t really need a sequel, it’s pleasant enough so far.  I like the way it’s incorporating political revolution into its storyline, and the main character is still really pleasant to be around. 

I am pleased and grateful to say that I also have a copy of Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall to dive into at some point in the future.  My Aunt Rachel sent me a lovely edition from England, and it’s even prettier than the copies we sell at work.

Book School

Well, library school, but that doesn’t match so nicely.  The last book I finished (Chris Crutcher’s Whale Talk) was for my Introduction to Library Science class.  I think I’ll do a longer post on it later, when I get closer to the assignment I read it for.  My feelings on it are…well, complicated.  I like a lot of what it did, but some of it made me make :/ faces.

The main other library school thing on my plate this weekend is a presentation.  I’ll be giving an Ignite presentation on librarian stereotypes.  I was super excited for it when I signed up, but then I was a little bummed out–we just read a chapter on librarian stereotypes and talked about it a lot.  But I have some ideas for making it fresh again for my presentation.  Fingers crossed, it’ll be good!

When I’ve completed it, I think I’ll try and convert it into a blog post.  I might do the same with a presentation I gave two weeks ago for my Organization of Knowledge class.  That one was about precision and recall, which are measurements of search relevance.  It’s not a complicated as it sounds, but it felt pretty difficult to understand at first.

Book Store

Spring has come to my bookshop!  Our staff recommendations are themed for springtime, and I’ve decided to recommend Alison’s Zinnia by Anita Lobel.  When I was little, we accidentally stole this book from the library; we read it over and over, and then we just plain lost it in the house.  I don’t think we found it until we moved when I was fourteen!  It’s a lovely alphabet book full of alliteration and very pretty illustrations of flowers.

I should probably recommend something for teens or adults, too, but I haven’t thought of anything yet.  I’ll have to keep thinking–I have until the 15th to write out my staff rec.

Here’s a list of interesting-looking books I came across while working this morning:

Leave a Reply

